The Taurus Prize for Visual Arts is awarded every two years to a contemporary artist, by a selection committee of professionals. Dedicated to a geographical area instead of a theme, the prize rejects the imposition of exterior narratives onto territories and promotes relevance and accuracy.

For its inaugural edition, the area chosen for the Taurus Prize for Visual Arts is the continental part of Lagos, Nigeria. Victoria Island and Ikoyi (the islands) are therefore excluded from the field of research.

The relevance of all submitted projects will be evaluated by a jury of experts, constituted, for this first edition, of:

– Inua Ellams, writer
– Azu Nwagbogy, founder of the African Artists Foundation, Lagos
– Iheanyi Onwuegbucha, director of the Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos
– Tosin Oshinowo, architect and curator
– Oluremi C. Onabanjo, curator

Together, they will monitor the development of the project, along with the teams of the three institutions, which will present the laureate’s work: the Bienne Festival of Photography, the LagosPhoto Festival and the Photoforum Pasquart in Bienne.

Applications are officially open to all visual artists wishing to develop a project on Lagos mainland, with special attention given to photography and film-based works.

Open to all applicants (no restriction of age or country of origin).

Deadline to apply: October 1st
More info and how to apply: